Cruise Ship Employment Scam
Some of you have informed us about the unusual practice of some Malaysian companies or individuals previously registered in our directory of recruitment agents (they have been removed from the list). They require the candidates to pay for the service in advance but have never provided a job to any of them. Instead, they produce a certificate and email it to the job seeker.
We have a strong reason to suspect the employment offers to people who recently contacted companies under the following names to be a scam:
- Shipping Planet
- Salsa Cruise
- Vigo Cruises
- Starcruise
- Transways Logistics
- Mutus Cruises
- Starline Cruises
- CruiseQueenliner (Cruise Queenliner)
- Canadian Cruise Shipping
- Royal Cruiseliner (Royal Cruise Liner)
- Skylines Cruise International
- Pan American Cruise Corporation (Berverly Hills)
- Hawks Marine Cruises International (Canada)
- See all cruise ship job scam schemes here
We have a reason to suspect their certificates are not issued by the Department of Immigration in Malaysia (as they claim) but are false.
Please consider this warning to be our independent advice and opinion.
Click on the image to open the larger version of it in a new window. We have used a made-up person's details on it to protect the real person who received this certificate.
Bank Details
Several victims of this Malaysian employment scam have reported they had sent their money (registration, admin, visa and other fees) to the following bank account:
Account number: 4315363631
Bank Name: Public Bank
Address: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Account holder: Evelyn Laika Wirkom
Swift code: PBBEMYKL
Please make sure you DO NOT send any money to the above bank account. You will lose it.
More about Vigo Cruises
We have received many emails about Vigo Cruises cruise ship employment scam.
Victims
Here are some messages we have received from the unfortunate victims of the scam:
First of all I was sent a mail by the vigo cruises to fill up the form and I was told to forward it back to them....
Ravi's Story: How Vigo Cruises stole $1000 from me
Please, can you help me to solve the problem with Salsa Cruise in Malaysia? We have sent over US$ 5.000 to them and they don't send the visas.
Marcelo, Brazil
I had appointed in Vigo Cruise in catering department but they had done frud to me and taken money from me - about $400.
Lasely, India
Last month i've applied in jobships.com for 5th enginner post in any shipping company. Then after some days later "Vigo Cruise Intl" cruise company contacted me regarding a job. They asked me my credentials and my resume. After that they sent me an offer letter. For immigration purpose and work permit they needed $600 (US Dollars). The e-mail given by the company is angelinenandipha.lawyer@gmail.com and the company name is ANGELINE NANDIPHA MBEZI&CO.
Lasely, India
We paid a lot of money for immigration and DLEA to work in Malaysia and now we are waiting to receive all the traveldocuments and contracts, however we aren't sure if Salsa Cruise is an official organisation? We think it's a kind of fraud.
Sébastien, Belgium
I have just read with interest your article on the recruitment scam. I have had several emails from Vigo Cruises in Malaysia. They seem to be part of this scam as they also email from a Salsa Cruises address.
Sarah, United Kingdom
Hi, I'm almost a victim of GLO Industries BHD, Nandipha & Co. They hired 45 workers from Philippines and they asked $200 from each worker for an employment pass approval. As a career consultant, I went to the site of work to check it. I went to the place Sarawak, Mr. Mohamad Abus, who is our contact and keep calling did show. In short, no Mr. Abus, no company, nothing. The funny thing is where i called him that I am at Kuching airport he asked me to send the money through Western Union, but I said no.
Adeltrudes, Philippines
More scam schemes
We have received more scam reports about fake cruise ship employers:
This is to inform you that a shipping agent named "Ocean Track Cruising and Shipping" from India has been posing as HR for "Chalet Cruises" and has duped more than 200 job aspirants.
Sharat, India
I got a letter from "Pan American Cruise Corporation" from Beverly Hills, USA promising a job in cruise and made a payment of $90 but after that i haven't got any information yet for the past 2 years.
Jayapriya, India
We are manning agent from Indonesia. Few week ago we got new partner from Thailand called "Oceanic Maritime Service". This company offered us some vacancies and once we proceed the candidate they finally sent us visa and a Letter of Guarante. Later on we found out that this company is unexisting. Be carefull of this company, they are asking for money but you don't get your job.
Saladan, Indonesia
I think CruiseQueenliner are a fake employment agency as well. They asked me to send $520 for the visa and training. Fortunately I didn't make this mistake. Please be aware of them.
Mike, Norway
If you know about a fake recruiter for cruise lines, please contact us. Thank you.

